Ayurvedic Treatments

Ayurvedic treatments can be classified under two groups - tonification and reduction. Reduction therapies reduce excesses in the body while tonification methods nurture insufficiency in the body. Reduction therapy has two parts called pacification and purification. Pacification is done with herbs, fasting, exercise, sunbathing and exposure to wind. Purification is a special form of therapy for removal of the disease causing humors. It consists of five parts - The ‘Pancha Karmas’ - cleaning enemas, nasal medication, Purgation, Emesis and blood letting. All these require preliminary Ayurvedic practices of oleation and sweating. Kerala a southern state of India, has developed its own Ayurvedic treatment modalities like Dhara, pizhichil, Navarakizhi, Elakizhi, Sirovasthi, Thalapothichil etc which are extremely effectual in a number of diseases which include Motor neuron diseases, Arthritis of various kinds, Skin diseases, Heart diseases, Peptic ulcer, Asthama, Peripheral vascular diseases and Gynecological disorders. Knowledge about Ayurvedic type of medicine is alienated into eight branches.

  • Kaya chikilsa (General medicine)
  • Shalya (Surgery)
  • Shalakya (ENT and Ophthalmology)
  • Graha (Psychotherapy)
  • Damshitra (Toxicology)
  • Bala (Pediatrics and Gynecology)
  • Jara (Rejuvenation)
  • Vrishya (Aphrodisiacs)

Of the above the seventh one, which is rejuvenation therapy is a unique method which Ayurveda performs. Until death our body is engaged in a continuous struggle against the aging process. Hence the body is called Shareeram - something that degenerates.